Just a Thought · Travel

Postcards from Far Away…

Song of the Moment: Postcards from Far Away by Coldplay

So I chose this particular song as a the tile for this post because this song has been on my mind since right before I left to go on vacation. It’s not one of their well known songs and it doesn’t have any lyrics. It’s basically just a piano rift. But it’s sort of a thought provoking song. And the title obviously hints at travel.

So I recent did a stint working for the post office. I would still be there if it weren’t for the fact that my car was sustaining hundreds of dollars worth of damage while I delivered mail. Anyway, while I was there, I saw postcards from foreign lands. I was pretty fascinated because of my lack time spent abroad. But the lady who trained me told me about how she used to send herself postcards while she was on vacation to see if they would beat her home. And that gave me an idea.

Postcards are obviously inexpensive souvenirs and require nothing more than a simple postage stamp to be put through the mail. So during my brief stay in Savannah, I decided to get nothing more than postcard as a token of my stay there. And today, I just sent home one from here in Apalachicola.

And then another thought occurred to me. I just turned 20, which is the start of one of the craziest decades in my life. And as someone who hopes to do plenty of traveling in her 20s, I got the idea of collecting postcards from the places that I visit and making a collage, finishing by the time my 30th birthday rolls around.

I haven’t done a lot of traveling in my life. The only time I’ve been out of the U.S is to go to Canada. And the Gulf of Mexico is the only other major body of water that I’ve been in besides the Atlantic. So I’m feeling pretty ambitious about setting fourth into new territory in the next 10 years.

My good friend Kayla and I are hoping to see a little bit of Europe together after college. But with my school being where it is, I’m also in a good position to easily drive to points westward. And of course a trip to the Pacific is a must.

One thought on “Postcards from Far Away…

  1. That sounds like such an awesome idea to collect postcards of the places you have been. I am sure it will be a really great gift to yourself in your 30s. đŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a comment